Interview: Broxter

Broxter is an indie game developer from England, whose work includes Blockiliate and Ne Touchez Pas! Flash.  For more of his work, you can visit his (outdated) personal portfolio here.

Introduce yourself:
Hello. I’m known as Broxter (real name, Jack Brockley). I’m a seventeen-year-old student from Stoke-on-Trent in England. I’d like to think that I’m pretty intelligent. Alas, I use Twitter too much.

How did you begin making games?
I found Game Maker in February 2006 after reading a tiny paragraph about it in a UK magazine which I still read, called GamesMaster. At first I found it very difficult to use and it wasn’t until August 2008 that I finally finished my first game (which was featured on YoYo Games after being entered into the third competition) and began using GM regularly; I think this was the point when I became decent at making games and I was pretty happy with myself.

You have recently made the switch to flash. How was that and do you have any tips for others wanting to do the same?
Indeed I have. I’d been wanting (and trying) to make games in Flash for about a year. The main attractions were the possibilities of reaching so many more players (such is the nature of games run in a browser) and actually making some money. After attempting and failing with both Flash CS3 and the Flixel AS3 library, I basically gave up. I heard FlashPunk was coming but I was expecting it to be just as tricky to use as Flixel. How wrong I was. I completed the beginner’s tutorial on the first day of FlashPunk’s release and subsequently fully ported Andrew McCluskey’s Ne Touchez Pas! from Game Maker to Flash in just three weeks. I still had problems but this time I was able to satisfyingly overcome them. I would definitely recommend FlashPunk to other users of Game Maker wishing to experiment with Flash – it’s structured quite similarly and there is a great community forming already.

What are your opinions of FlashPunk?
Simply put, it’s awesome. I can’t thank Chevy Ray Johnston enough. Without FlashPunk, I’d probably have given up with Flash for good. I’ve become so interested that I’ve actually created a dedicated blog – FlashPunked.

Out of all of your projects, which one is your favorite and why?
Porting Ne Touchez Pas!, for sure. It was really fun to put Andrew’s great game in a browser and it was awesome to see how both my AS3 skills and the game improved by the day. It was also fun to keep Andrew updated and I don’t think I’ve ever worked so hard and with such little procrastination.

Are you working on projects currently? If so, do you have any information/screenshots you can share with us?
Well, I’m in the early stages of porting another (very recent) Game Maker game. I haven’t done much at all, so no screenshots. The same can be said about the game I’ve just started for the Garden Games competition over at Braingale; I’m not sure if it will be made with GM or Flash or even made at all yet. Also, I was going to enter YoYo Games’ fifth competition but that looks highly unlikely now.

Besides GML and AS3, do you program in any other languages?
If you discount VB.NET, then no, not really. However, I used AS2 when I was attempting to make Flash games with CS3 but that didn’t get very far. I’ve also dabbed in PHP and MySQL (I programmed online highscores for my latest GM game).

What do you do for inspiration for a project?
Honestly, I don’t know. I don’t get much.

Do you have any tips for future game developers/designers?
Me? Haha, no.

Anything else you would like to add?
I would like to wish you the best of luck with this website. Let the interviews commence!

Thanks again to Broxter for doing the interview.

Explore posts in the same categories: Interviews

4 Comments on “Interview: Broxter”

  1. Noel Says:

    Awesome review, of an awesome guy. He did a really good job with NTP flash port.

  2. Broxter Says:

    Thanks Noel. Such nice words. 🙂

  3. theberryster Says:

    Awesome interview! Can’t wait for the next one! 😀


Leave a Reply

