Interview: Andrew Brophy

Andrew Brophy is an indie game developer who is a member of The Poppenkast and the founder of The Braingale Team.  You can view his personal portfolio here or his blog here.

Introduce yourself:

Introduce myself? Okay, here it goes, although I can’t remember much, so sorry if this is a little vauge…

It all started in 1993, where I was born in the fifth worst city in this country on the fourth month into a family of three, being the second male child and the only one who cares for games. Sometime after that, I started making them – and fun ones at that!

Also, I’m Andrew Brophy from Australia.

How do you come up with the ideas for your games?

All sorts of ways. I have this bad habit of coming up with the look of a game first, so I’ll make all these nice looking effects, then sit there for ages trying to figure out how on Earth I turn it into something playable. I’d like to think I got that right a few times.

Of all of your games, which would you say is your favorite, and why?

That’s a good question. I’d probably say Angry Gorilla Machine Monsters. As soon as I (accidentally) made the background effect, I knew it’d look pretty sweet. Honestly, I don’t think it’s too fun to play, but it looks nice. I also like Polkadot and A Weekend in Space, because they actually seems fun to play.

How is your game for YoYoGame’s 5th Competition, CowboyKilla coming along?

Pretty well. Most of the core work is done, it’s just a matter of fleshing the game out and polishing it up. The good thing about working with Banov is that we have a pretty similar work ethic, and we both have a very similar idea on how we want the game to turn out, so it’s been really fun working on it.

Besides your competition game, are you working on any other projects? If so, care to share any information (names, general info, screenshots, etc…)?

I’m working on so many. It’s really bad, I’m a total scatterbrain. I do have a few running that I’ll mention thought. First is an exploration platformer called Anyone Else’s World. I’ve been working on it on and off for about two years. There’s a playable demo somewhere online, but it’s pretty old. I’m planning on releasing it sometime this year.

Then there’s Takishawatwo – a follow up to my previous game Takishawa is Dead!, which was pretty popular. I basically wanted to make up for all the issues that the first game had, as well as making a full adventure title (people may not be aware of this, but the first one was made over a weekend). And lastly, I’ve been working on a story-based platformer called Girl since about the end of 2008. I don’t have anything to show as of yet, but it’s going pretty well.

Who would you say is your favorite game devloper, and why?

Oh no, I’m not good at picking favourites. Let me think… I like Terry Cavanagh, he made VVVVVV, and that was really neat. There’s also Chevy Ray Johnson. He made Skullpogo and the Flashpunk engine, which are really cool. I guess I’d have to say Greg Lobanov (aka Banov). He has a really simple style to his games, but they’re really fun, and pretty much what every new Game Maker user strives to create (aka super long RPGs or action platformers). I also like Jan Willem Nijman (he’s famous for games like 10800 Zombies). My favourite of his was Atomic Super Boss. Something to do with the music/graphic combination, I think.

Oh, there’s also Hoani Bryson. He made The Hanrahan Game and Seraphim Flame, which are two really rad games that people should play.

Being the founder of The Braingale Team, what was your main goal for the team and why did you want to create it?

It started as this tiny group that a few others and I started (technically, it was two super tiny groups that merged). At the time, we were working on a game together, but after we got a domain registered, it turned into a group for ‘talented yet obscure’ game makers. Honestly, I’m still trying to figure out what it’s all about. It’s some sort of game making community, mixed with a semi-review site, and there’s also community-made a games and monthly competitions. I think it’s as messy with its goal as I am with my game making.

Do you have any game development tips for other game makers?

I think I’m the worst person to ask. I don’t know. Maybe find what you’re good at, stick with it, and don’t stray away from it. Do not experiment, it’s not good. Seriously.

Any other comments you would like to include?

Not really that I can think of. If people show more interest in me, they can check out my blog or Braingale. I’d probably write something meaningful to sign off with, but I really feel like a milkshake or something right now.

Explore posts in the same categories: Interviews

5 Comments on “Interview: Andrew Brophy”

  1. Broxter Says:

    Nice interview. Was interesting (and slightly funny) to hear the thoughts of a rising talent.

  2. Banov Says:

    Love the new site look, pretty sweet interview!

    I remember I had one on here too before the big x__x, any chance I’ll ever get a round 2?

  3. Time Says:

    I can’t wait to see the next interview! Totally bookmarked this page 😉


Leave a Reply

